Problem auto switching profiles

Anything about GOverlay and the devices supported

Problem auto switching profiles

Postby Checkerknight » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:58 pm

So I got one of these LCD's and I absolutely love it. Its not too difficult to customize a personal screen, and I thought I'd set up each game to have its own theme. I do have Rivatuner Statistics running and I've gotten a few games to work properly and they come up right away, but there are a couple that aren't working correctly. Mostly Red Dead Redemption 2. I do believe my problem lies within the Rockstar Launcher. When looking at the "Status" screen of Goverly the launcher shows up, and output reads "D3D10" which is what the launcher is running though. From here, even with RDR2 running, and the profile aptly named RDR2.exe, the profle will not switch. If I open the launcher specifically first (Rather than using the RDR2 shortcut) and then launcing the game from there, the output will read "Vulkan" which is what RDR2 runs through, but the profile still will not activate. The only way to fix it is to go to GOverlay while the game is running, click on the profile itself, and then it will trigger the blue screen read "DX Game Detected" and then switch to it automatically, even though I had already changed it manually.

TLDR - I guess what I'm asking is if there could be a way to have GOverlay ignore launcher type apps, or be able to set the output manually? Something along those lines.

If anymore info is needed let me know. It would be really cool to have all the themes launch properly with every game, for asthetic reasons :D
Checkerknight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:46 pm

Re: Problem auto switching profiles

Postby TheLaGmAn » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:29 pm

Sorry for the late reply.

Can you give me both .exe names? the one for the launcher and the one for the game?

The problem is most likely that after detecting the first "game" it wont look for a new one, since it will only load the first profile found as a game.

You should be able to solve this by adding into RTSS to ignore the launcher, open the RTSS where you installed it (rivatunerstatisticsserver.exe i think it was) and add the launcher in the list of profiles the app has, and then set the detection to NONE, this will make RTSS ignore the launcher and goverlay wont see it, give it a try and let me know how it goes
TheLaGmAn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:32 pm

Re: Problem auto switching profiles

Postby Checkerknight » Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:05 am

I apologize for my late reply as well. I just left the profile I made as default and kind of forgot about this :D :D

Your advice worked perfectly. The launcher was taking priority so the app wasn't even looking for another program/profile. Having Rivatuner ignore the launcher has it detect the game and the profile worked great.

The specific file names are "SocialClubHelper.exe" and "RDR2.exe" Having "SocialClubHelper" set to No Detection was exactly what I needed. Just to be sure I put "RDR2" on High Detection. I did not realize how much these apps actually worked together, mostly because I had never had Rivatuner on my computer until I got this screen. Thank you for your help! Now to get more profiles made and marvel at this wonderful little gadget.
Checkerknight
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:46 pm


Return to About GOverlay



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron